deadlines amuse me

exploring how the world works and why it works that way …

Who needs Gale Norton anyway?

with 3 comments

How nice of the nation’s secretary of the Interior, Gale Norton, to support drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, a.k.a. ANWR.

Sunday’s Times op-ed page carried Norton’s “Call of the Mild” commentary that argued technology would mitigate impacts on a “sliver” of ANWR. (Read her piece.)

Frankly, I’d expect this from the secretary of Commerce, not the Interior boss. But she’s from Colorado, and many Westerners think natural resources ought to be “utilized” rather than “preserved.”

Times readers shot back. (Read the letters.)

Environmentals say the amount of oil recoverable from ANWR amounts to about 10 days’ consumption in the U.S.

I doubt I’ll ever see the Alaskan refuge. But the image of wilderness, pristine and unspoiled, is a necessary antidote to the stresses of modern, “civilized” life.

I need to know it’s there. I don’t want to trade that knowledge for 10 days’ worth of oil.

Written by Dr. Denny Wilkins

March 16, 2005 at 3:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree
    Apparently, humans forget that things are here to exist like we are and not for us to “utilize.” Maybe if we saw things in this world as something to behold, rather than something for our benefit, we might be in better shape.

    9thwonder

    March 18, 2005 at 6:00 pm

  2. Just wondering…
    I was wondering if you had checked out this article in the guardian last week?
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/international/story/0,3604,1447863,00.html
    What do you make of it?

    9thwonder

    April 4, 2005 at 5:22 pm

    • Re: Just wondering…
      Thanks for the tip on the Guardian story. I took a look — it’s a long laundry list that says, as the lede does, that the human race is living beyond its means. We all know this — in fact, it was a principal theme of my master’s degree, which is environmental studies.
      Here at the possible cures:
      Reduce people.
      Increase the efficiency of use of resources via ever-advanced technology.
      But the efficiency of advanced technology will wane as scarce resources continue to dwindle.
      So we’re back at “reduce people.”
      I haven’t mentioned “Keep people but reduce resource use” because I’m not sure I could follow that dictum.
      I was raised in the era of muscle cars and I’m reluctant to surrender the V8 in my pickup.
      Denny

      Dr. Denny

      April 4, 2005 at 5:31 pm


Leave a comment